Illegal Pot Growing Operation Discovered In Bronx Home

NEW YORK (CBSNewYork) — Police in the Bronx discovered an illegal marijuana growing operation, and a long sought after suspect is now in custody.

The elaborate setup was found in a home on Fowler Avenue in Morris Park around 2 p.m. Wednesday as officers from the 49th precinct carried out a search warrant.

On the upper floor of the home, police say they found four grow rooms filled with marijuana plants of different ages supported by an elaborate setup of air filtration, irrigation systems, heat lamps, and temperature control systems.

Authorities say the suspect bypassed the home’s electrical meter and may have stolen upwards of $90,000 worth of power from Con Edison to support the illegal grow.

An estimated 50 pounds of marijuana were seized in the Wednesday raid.

Police say they had been looking for the suspect for four years after he repeatedly failed to report to his parole officer.

He was arrested and charged with marijuana possession, with additional charges for the electrical theft likely.

All images and written content is property of the listed RSS FEED if you would like more on this story and images please click the listed feed.

Speedy Ortiz, Deerhoof Feature on Planned Parenthood Covers LP

The first of a series of covers compilation albums benefitting Planned Parenthood will be released next month. Cover Your Ass Vol. 1 features covers recorded by Speedy Ortiz, Deerhoof, Hinds, Porches, Cass McCombs Band, TEEN, Palehound, the Lemon Twigs, Cut Worms, Daddy Issues, (Sandy) Alex G, the Quilz and Luke Temple.

A variety of artists are being covered in the first compilation. David Bowie, Kelly Clarkson, Public Enemy, TV on the Radio, Dido, Don Henley, DEVO, and Big Star are among the artists that the compilation participants cover.

The music supervision and clearance company releasing the album, Lionfish Music, has pledged 100 percent of profits from Cover Your Ass Vol. 1 to Planned Parenthood. The first volume serves as “a tribute to the dedication shown by countless doctors and nurses who make real measurable differences in millions of people’s lives,” according to a statement.

Cover Your Ass Vol. 1 will be released on May 26th via Lionfish Music and is available for pre-order via iTunes.

Cover Your Ass Vol. 1 Track List

1. Deerhoof “Fight thePower” (Public Enemy cover)
2. Hinds “When it Comes to You” (Dead Ghosts cover)
3. Cut Worms “Truly Julie’s Blues” (Bob Lind cover)
4. The Lemon Twigs “White Flag” (Dido cover)
5. Daddy Issues “Boys of Summer” (Don Henley cover)
6. Speedy Ortiz “Young Liars” (TV on the Radio cover)
7. Palehound “Miss Independent” (Kelly Clarkson cover)
8. The Quilz “Girl U Want” (DEVO cover)
9. Cass McCombs Band “Yes We Can Can” (Pointer Sisters cover)
10. Porches “Morpha Too” (Big Star cover)
11. (Sandy) Alex G “Druglord Landlord” (Cold Foamers cover)
12. TEEN “Boys Keep Swinging” (David Bowie cover)
13. Luke Temple “Duchess” (Scott Walker cover)

Related Content:

Apple Buys Rights to ‘Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives’ Documentary

Apple purchased the rights to the documentary “Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives,” reports Billboard. The documentary will premiere tonight at the Tribeca Film Festival at the Radio City Music Hall in New York.

The film was directed by Chris Perkel and is based on music producer Clive Davis’ autobiography, released in 2013. Davis was the president of Columbia Records from 1967 to 1975, and he founded Arista Records, where he was president of the company until 2000. He went on to found J Records, and then served as CEO and chairman of RCA Music Group.

At the current time, Davis is the chief creative officer at Sony Music Entertainment. Davis has influenced many important music artists over the course of his career, including Whitney Houston, Barry Manilow, Aretha Franklin, Alicia Keys, Santana, Aerosmith, Bruce Springsteen, and more.

“Apple is a global innovator that has revolutionized the distribution of music,” said Davis in a statement. “It is a touching honor to share the music and unique stories that have shaped my career with millions of Apple Music subscribers around the world. I am overjoyed to work with them to continue this incredible journey!”

Apple has not announced when it plans to release “Clive Davis: The Soundtrack of Our Lives,” on Apple Music, nor has the company said whether the film will have a theatrical release.

Discuss this article in our forums